Draugablíkk’s debut album “NÍU: Blood of the Amali (Ásaland Metal Cut)” begins streaming June 19

Sweden, June 18, 2020 ⁠— Legendo Music, Swedish cross-media entertainment company Legendo Entertainment’s music division, today announced the release of boreo-pagan folk band Draugablíkk’s debut album “NÍU: Blood of the Amali (Ásaland Metal Cut)”, which begins streaming on major music services tomorrow.

Listen to this album release here.

“NÍU: Blood of the Amali (Ásaland Metal Cut)” is Draugablíkk’s debut album and includes nine tracks inspired by Scandinavian and Eurasian history, the philosophies of the great steppes, and last — but certainly not least — by Norse and Gothic sagas and myth (as well as Slavic and Scythian chroniclers.)

The number nine is significant in the Old Norse myths, as made evident by Odin — who sacrificed himself, to himself, on the tree of life Yggdrasil for nine days and nights, until the secret of the runes was revealed to him. Further, the sagas describe how Thor takes nine steps and falls to the ground dead after he fought his last fight with the Midgard Serpent at Ragnarok (Ragnarök). Heimdall, who is the guardian of the rainbow bridge Bifrost, was born by nine sisters — an event echoed in the nine daughters of the sea-goddess Rán, who rules the oceans.

The tones of Draugablíkk have an obvious appeal for fans of similarly-minded pagan artists like Danheim, Heilung, and Nytt Land. Nevertheless, Draugablíkk delivers a sound of its own by combining Norse talharpa — also known as the Viking lyre, metal guitars, and ancient shamanic chants with a touch of eastern throat-singing (an acoustic edition of the album entitled “Kattegat Unplugged” will be released at a later date.)

Draugablíkk’s “NÍU: Blood of the Amali (Ásaland Metal Cut)” track-list:

  1. Serpents in the Mist (Ásaland Metal Version)
  2. From the Ashes of Aujum (Ásaland Metal Version)
  3. To Særkland and Back Again (Ásaland Metal Version)
  4. Wolfclan Rising (Ásaland Metal Version)
  5. Battle of Brávellir (Ásaland Metal Version)
  6. Across the Varangian Sea (Ásaland Metal Version)
  7. Húnagaldr (Ásaland Metal Version) [feat. Valgam Akatziri]
  8. Draugablót: The Fall of Indra (Ásaland Metal Version)
  9. Beyond the Silkroad (Ásaland Metal Version)

Viking Age Throat-Singing

Although throat-singing is said to have originated with male herders in the East, there are historical accounts from the Viking Age that points to a similar tradition of overtone singing in the West. One particular literary source, namely the writings of the Hispano-Arabic traveler Ibrahim ibn Yaqub, describes how he visited the Viking village of Hedeby (Heiðabýr in Old Norse) in Denmark (now Germany) around the year 965. Ibrahim didn’t have anything positive to say on the harsh-sounding performances he heard in Heiðabýr and claimed the inhabitants’ song was the most horrible he had ever experienced, going so far as to describe the performance “like the baying of hounds, only worse.”

We interpret the remarks of Ibrahim ibn Yaqub as an unmistakable compliment.

About Draugablíkk

Draugablíkk is a musical, cultural, and historical project whose boreo-pagan folk sound blends traditional Scandinavian instruments and arrangements with Eastern influences such as ancient throat-singing and sky father shamanism. Notable members include mythologist, producer, and co-lyricist Vinithor “Amajarl” Amal, co-lyricist, composer, and lead-singer Valgam “Borileyu” Akatziri, and Yrsa Alvtýra who provides vocals and various folk instrumentation. Visit draugablikk.com for more info.

About Legendo Entertainment

Headquartered in Sweden, Legendo Entertainment is a cross-media entertainment company that creates, develops, and publishes games, music, comic books, and related entertainment products inspired by myth, alternative science, folklore, classic novels, and historical events. Legendo operates five entertainment divisions: Legendo Animation, Legendo Comics, Legendo Games, Legendo Media, and Legendo Music. Visit legendo.com for more info.

Legendo Music

There is a hell of a good universe out there! Legendo Music is a record label and music publisher specialized in neofolk, epic orchestral, and heroic cinematica.

Sign up for our newsletter to receive exclusive updates

Sign up for our newsletter to receive exclusive updates